What’s In A Font?

fontselection

Cynthia Close examines font choices for “The Best of the Burlington Writers Workshop 2014”

Want to have a say in the creation of The Best of the Burlington Writers Workshop 2014? Tell me what you think the font should be!

At last Saturday’s meeting, I posted eight different fonts to the wall and asked participants to pick their top two. At the end of the night, three fonts emerged as the group’s favorites.

Here are the options: Font 5, Font 6, and Font 7. I’ve left out the names of these fonts to prevent any kind of font biasing, assuming there is such a thing as font bias.

Please choose one and vote here. I’ll keep the voting open until midnight on September 30th.

Please note that it’s sometimes hard to see these fonts on a computer screen or tablet. Print them if you can. If you can’t print them, zoom in with your Adobe PDF viewer of choice.

Publishing the first Best of book was a learning experience. In retrospect, I wish I had found more ways to get more people involved. Since this is something we do together, I want to make sure that we actually get a chance to share our thoughts on this stuff.

If you have any ideas about our next book, please contact me.

About Peter Biello

Peter Biello is the host of All Things Considered on New Hampshire Public Radio and a writer of short stories, novels, book reviews, and essays. He's also the host of The Bookshelf, a series of interviews with authors from or writing about the Granite State.
This entry was posted in Anthology. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What’s In A Font?

  1. Pat Goudey OBrien says:

    Ummm, I feel like a piker, but I’m not voting. Wasn’t there to see the other fonts, but I’m not crazy about any of these. Font 5 is too fragile and looks a tiny bit like typewriter font. Six and seven and tight and “gray.” I like Perpetua. Sometimes even Goudy Oldstyle. Wonder if any of these are any of those! Good luck choosing a font. It’s not a simple task.

    • Peter Biello says:

      Perpetua and Goudy Oldstyle are good options, too. I will save these options for the voting that happens with the 2015 edition. Darn! I wish you had replied to my email when I asked everyone to recommend fonts they like. Next time, next time…

  2. Wendy Andersen says:

    Great suggestion to print these, Peter. They look different on paper.
    The leading, or white space between lines, is important in helping the reader’s eye track easily. In these samples Fonts 5 and 7 have better leading for lines this length. Trying to visualize which font is well-suited to the different genres makes choosing more complex.

Leave a Reply

